Meaningful Use Criteria for ODs: Planning for 2014

meaningful use criteria for ODsAs of's dataset from August 1, 2013, 12,265 ODs have attested for meaningful use, and optometry is the specialty with the 5 highest number of attestations! The wave of change in how eye care practices are being run and how eye care patients are being treated is a nation-wide transformation that every optometrist should be ready to embrace. Our role at VisionWeb is not only to introduce solutions that we find viable, but to educate our readers and share our insight on the exciting evolution of the optometry industry!

While this year is quickly coming to an end, 2014 will be a momentous year for healthcare providers to look forward to! It will mark the beginning of the meaningful use program's 6th year of progress in promoting the effective use of electronic health records to improve the quality, safety, and efficiency of our nation's healthcare system.

2014 Sneak Peak: Meaningful Use Criteria for ODs

1. Stage 2 will be effective for practices that have already met stage 1 requirements. Practices attesting to meaningful use in 2013 and 2014 will still be under the updated stage 1 meaningful use criteria until 2015. See where you're at in the process with CMS's online calculator. Even if you're in the first step of determining your eligibility, there's never going to be a better time to start than now.

2. This is the last year that a doctor can begin meaningful use to receive incentive payments. 2015 will be the first year of negative reimbursement adjustments for professionals and hospitals that do not meet meaningful use.

3. Everyone participating in meaningful use, regardless of their stage, must have a 2014 certified EHR. All systems with 2011 certification will essentially expire, unless they are able to meet the tough requirements of 2014 certification. Because of the time needed to implement this, providers are only required to demonstrate meaningful use for a 3 month reporting period.

4. Clinical quality measures will have to be reported in the same way using the new 2014 criteria. Unlike stage 1 CQMs, stage 2 will not require the submission of a core set of CQMs, instead you report on 9 of the 64 approved CQMs.

If you still are feeling a little lost with the entire process of meaningful use, take a look at our eBook, A Beginner's Guide to Meaningful Use!

Download the eBook Now!

Back to Blog

Related Articles

CE Credits for 2015 | Optometry Office Management

  I’m sure most of you have heard of OD Wire, but if you haven’t, it’s the largest online community...

Winter 2017 Reading List for Better Optical Practice Business Ideas

With National Book Month wrapping up in October, we thought it was the perfect time to put together...

The Four Metrics Optometry Billing Managers Need To Focus On

Tracking and reviewing key performance indicators and metrics for your practice can seem a bit...